[Skip to Content]home


The Electoral Affairs Commission comprises a Chairman and two other members appointed by the Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region. The current Chairman has been re-appointed for a term of five years starting from 17 August 2017. The other two members have been re-appointed and appointed for a term of five years starting from 7 January 2019 and 29 September 2020 respectively. The Chairman and members' particulars are as follows:


The Honourable Mr Justice FUNG Wah, Barnabas, GBS, Judge of the Court of First Instance of the High Court. His academic and professional qualifications include: Bachelor of Commerce and LLB, The University of New South Wales, Australia; PCLL, The University of Hong Kong; Barrister, New South Wales, Australia and Hong Kong; Fellow of the Australian Society of Certified Practising Accountants; Accredited Mediator (CEDR).

He was first appointed as the Chairman in 2009 and re-appointed in 2013 and 2017 respectively. His present term will end on 16 August 2022.

Photo : The Honourable Mr Justice FUNG Wah, Barnabas


Mr Arthur Y. S. Luk, BBS, Senior Counsel, graduated from The Chinese University of Hong Kong and was awarded a government legal scholarship to study law at The University of Hong Kong. He had worked for 25 years in the Department of Justice and was the Deputy Director of Public Prosecutions when he retired from the Department in 2010. He is a Legal Advisor of the Scout Association of Hong Kong, a member of the Advisory Board of the Faculty of Law, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, a member of the Independent Police Complaints Council and a member of the Barristers Disciplinary Tribunal Panel. He was a member of the Academic Advisory Board of the Department of Law and Business, the Hong Kong Shue Yan University.

He was first appointed as the member in 2015 and then re-appointed in 2019. His present term will end on 6 January 2024.

Photo : Mr Arthur Y.S. Luk


Professor Daniel Shek, PhD, SBS, BBS, JP is Chair Professor of Applied Social Sciences, Li and Fung Professor in Service Leadership Education, and Associate Vice-President of The Hong Kong Polytechnic University. He is Chairman of the Public Policy Research Fund and Chairman of the Executive Committee of Society of Boys’ Centres. He is also a member of the Research Grants Council. He was the Chairman of Action Committee Against Narcotics and Family Council as well as member of different Government advisory committees, including Independent Police Complaints Council, Fight Crime Committee, Commission on Youth, Child Fatality Review Panel, Mental Health Review Tribunal, Nursing Council, Midwives Council, Citizen Advisory Committee on Community Relations, Independent Commission Against Corruption, and Commission on Children.

His present term will end on 28 September 2025.

Photo : Professor Daniel Shek
Copyright | Important notices | Privacy policy Last revision date: